House Dem Blumenauer Won’t Seek Reelection in 2024

House Dem Calls It QUIT - What's GOP Next MOVE?


Democratic Representative Earl Blumenauer, who has represented Oregon’s 3rd Congressional District for close to three decades, disclosed on Monday his decision not to run for re-election in 2024.

The progressive Democratic lawmaker, who represents the district encompassing a significant portion of Portland, has been a part of the political arena for half a century, initially winning a seat in the Oregon state House in 1972. Blumenauer additionally held positions as a Multnomah County commissioner and served on the Portland City Council.

In a statement issued on Monday, Blumenauer conveyed that after five decades of dedicated service across various government roles, the choice to step back from political life has been a challenging one. He elaborated that his decision not to pursue re-election was driven by his desire to pursue his life’s mission without the daily responsibilities of politics.

As a part of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, Blumenauer played a pivotal role as the founding member of the Congressional Cannabis Caucus and also held a position within the House Ways and Means Committee.

Considering the strong Democratic lean of Oregon District 3, it’s probable that the seat will be secured by another Democratic candidate in the 2024 election.

A total of 25 members of Congress, with 19 from the House and 6 from the Senate, have already made it known that they won’t be pursuing re-election in 2024. Within the House, this consists of 5 Republicans and 14 Democrats who won’t be vying for another term in 2024. Senator Mitt Romney of Utah and Senator Mike Braun of Indiana declared their intention to retire from the Senate.

Senate Democrats Ben Cardin (MD), Tom Carper (DE), and Debbie Stabenow (MI) have also chosen not to pursue re-election. Furthermore, Democrat Laphonza Butler of California, who was appointed to complete the late Dianne Feinstein’s term, will not be a candidate for the seat in the 2024 election.